Map Unavailable

Date(s) - September 15, 2021
All Day


Our Lady of Sorrows (Latin: Beata Maria Virgo Perdolens), Our Lady of Dolours, the Sorrowful Mother or Mother of Sorrows (Latin: Mater Dolorosa), and Our Lady of Piety, Our Lady of the Seven Sorrows or Our Lady of the Seven Dolours are names by which the Virgin Mary is referred to in relation to sorrows in her life. As Mater Dolorosa, it is also a key subject for Marian art in the Catholic Church.

The Seven Sorrows of Mary are a popular Roman Catholic devotion. In common religious Catholic imagery, the Virgin Mary is portrayed, sorrowful and in tears, with one or seven long knives or daggers piercing her heart, often bleeding. Devotional prayers that consist of meditation began to elaborate on her Seven Sorrows based on the prophecy of Simeon. Common examples of piety under this title are Servite rosary or the Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows of Our Lady, the Seven Joys of Mary, and, more recently, Sorrowful and Immaculate Heart of Mary.

The feast of Our Lady of Sorrows is liturgically celebrated every 15 September, while a feast of Friday of Sorrows is observed in some Catholic countries.

These are the Seven Sorrows of Mary:

These Seven Sorrows should not be confused with the five Sorrowful Mysteries of the Rosary. The Sorrows are often depicted as seven daggers stabbed into the Virgin’s heart.

  1. The Prophecy of Simeon
  2. The Flight into Egypt
  3. The Loss of the Child Jesus in the Temple of Jerusalem
  4. Mary’s meeting Jesus on the Via Dolorosa (not found in the New Testament)
  5. The Crucifixion of Jesus on Mount Calvary
  6. Jesus is Taken Down from the Cross.
  7. The Burial of Jesus by Joseph of Arimathea

It is a tradition for Catholics to say one Our Father daily and seven Hail Marys for each Sorrow.